Glotman•Simpson Cycling announces 2016 race team roster and program

Glotman•Simpson Cycling is pleased to announce its generous sponsors, race team roster, and program for 2016. 

Title sponsor Glotman•Simpson Group of Companies -- a structural engineering firm that supported the start of a cycling club with the intention of raising money for pancreatic cancer -- returns after nine successful seasons. The club’s impressive resume includes hosting the Annual Cypress Challenge, having donated over $1.6 M to the BC Cancer Foundation, and is comprised of almost 400 club members, recreational riders and racers.

For these cycling enthusiasts, the club offers well-organized group rides, skill and training programs, women's-specific clinics, and a racing development program. 2015 was a remarkable year for the club and perhaps easily the most successful to date. The Men’s and Women’s team amassed over 100 podium finishes and individual highlights including:

  • Morgan Cabot – Women’s Elite BC Time Trial Champion and Elite BC Premier Series CX champion
  • David Gillam – 2015 Cycling BC Coach of the year
  • Bob Welbourn – 2015 Masters 40-49 CX Canadian and BC Champion
  • Craig Holden – Masters BC Premier Series Road Champion
  • Jem Arnold – Cat 3 Tuesday Nighter Overall Champion (Road)
  • Justine Clift – Top female road, track, CX racer as voted by her peers
  • Glotman Simpson Cycling – Top road, track, CX cycling club as voted by its peers

In addition to the elite team veterans - David Gillam (Race Director and racer), Travis Streb, and Mark Rainer - the 2016 men’s team welcomes Ian Hendry, Ryan Joes, Jem Arnold, Ted Matson and Kurt Withers as Race Ambassadors. All will be assisting with mentoring the remaing club racers competing across all categories .

The 2016 women's elite team welcomes back from last season Morgan Cabot, Alysia Withers and Claire Cameron. New additions this year are Tamasin Reno, who returns to GSC after a three year hiatus, Jody Rechenmacher who showed great promise in her first season, and new GSC team member Michele Schaeffer.

The GSC elite race team members not only focus on competitions, but play an irreplaceable role in supporting club activities, development and mentoring  the 2016 Glotman Simpson Race Team that includes over 100 men and women club racers representing GS from Cat 1 to Novice.

GSC Men’s Elite Team

David Gillam
Ian Hendry
Travis Streb
Mark Rainer
Ryan Jones
Jem Arnold
Kurt Withers
Sebastian Salas
Jeff Wallace
Wai-Ben Wong

GSC Women’s Elite Team

Morgan Cabot
Alysia Withers
Michele Schaeffer
Jody Rechenmacher
Claire Cameron
Tamasin Reno
Erin Redl
Emma Lujan



GSC Men’s Masters Team

Ted Matson
Michael Goodman
Joost van Ulden
Craig Holden
Ken Phillips
Brian Anderson
Matthew Cooperwilliams
Mike Woodbridge
Duncan Lanoville
Paul Krzywicki
Daniel Frank

GSC Cat 3/4 Women’s Team

Lauren Marshall
Rebecca Cohen
Sonia Taylor
Jozina Vander Klok
Sarah Carter
Alison MacCulloch
Heather Lynn Beveridge
Micha Gutmanis
Allison Keogh
Dawn-Marie Barreira
Krista Matthews
Alicia Billingsley
Ursula Gutteridge

GSC Cat 3 Men’s Team

Seamus Harte
Matthew Brown
Mick Stobart
Ian Hilts
Paul Schincariol
Kendrick Wong
Finn Blackburn
Jason Cutbill
Aaron Brown
Darren Thompson
Tom Birk
Liam Fox

GSC Cat 4 Men’s Team

Andrew Funamoto
Matthew Cox
Carl Greenwood
Lee Isaman
Alex Henry
Kevin O'Connor
Kenny James
Brian Pearce
Sean Solheim
John Tani
Bryce Reid
Stuart Bagnall
Carmen Marin
Robert Reinert
Ben Johnson
Andrew Coelho
Graham van der Slagt
Craig Mcculloch
Paul Tinsley
Ben Smith
Benjamin Low-Beer
Jim DesRoches

GSC Novice Men’s Team

Brian Glavey
Jordan Behan
Peter McNamee
Farouk Zaba
Calvin Jang
Peter MacRae
Sheldon Coles
Ellison Chung
Clint Murphy
Steve Cooper
Elliot Usher
Ivan Jelic
Lee Madruga


Michael Daerendinger
Francis Buys
Marcel Studer
Kellen Kjera
Dustin Dickout
Grant Fraser
Sam Mottram
Dante Luciani
Matthew Beveridge
Ben  Smith
Francis Bourqui
Grant Hodgkins
Graham Winterbottom

The teams are looking forward to kicking things off at the Escape Velocity Spring Series, before completing in the  Cycling BC Racing Calendar, as well as Canadian Road Nationals, BC Superweek, the UCI White Spot Delta Road Race, and the 2016 RBC GranFondo Whistler.

Glotman•Simpson Cycling is proud to be generously supported by its sponsors and partners:

Glotman•Simpson Group of Companies
Buntain Insurance Agencies Ltd.
The BMW Store
West 4th Physio
RC Dental Group
The St. Regis Hotel
Feenstra Architecture Inc
ZLC Financial Group
Lachman Group
Reigning Champ
Formwerks Architecture
Different Bikes